An Audio-Book Review: The Cat in the Hat and This and That


The Cat in the Hat and other Dr. Seuss Favorites

By Dr. Seuss

Published by Listening Library

Read by Kelsey Grammer, John Cleese, John Lithgow, Billy Crystal, Dustin Hoffman, Ted Danson, Walter Matthau and Mercedes McCambridge

 

The Books:

I grew up with the books of Dr. Seuss (Theodore Geisel) and continue to have a fondness for them. I always look forward to the movie adaptations of them, although I will admit to having been disappointed by a few. Most of his books are slim and meant for young children who delight in the drawings as much as they do in his poetic story telling. The books are great to read to and with kids and I recommend them highly.

The movies, well with such slim books, the writers of the screen adaptations need to fill to get even ninety minutes out of them, but they are best adapted when the writers (and certain actors) do their best to stay true to the nature of Geisel’s stories and resist the urge to put in touches of their own.

This collection includes; The Cat in the Hat, Horton Hears a Who, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?, The Lorax, Yertle the Turtle, Gertrude Mc Fuzz, The Big brag, Thidwick, the Big-Hearted Moose, Horton Hatches the Egg and The Cat in the Hat Comes Back. Quite the assortment!

I have to admit I had forgotten Thidwick although it came back to me as I listened, and two the titles were published long after I was too old to read these stories. I only knew of The Lorax because of the movie adaptation and Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? was entirely new to me. However, Dr. Seuss’ work remains a delight and ageless as I recall.

 

The Audiobook:

I have to say that listening to this was great fun!

Normally when I come across a compilation of readings by various vocal talents, some always seem to fall flat, but this time it was delightful fun from start to finish. Each reader had his or her own style but all fit the nature of Dr. Seuss perfectly even when they employed over-the-top voices. It just worked.

Dr. Seuss’ books are classics of children’s stories and I think you’ll find this audio collection an excellent choice to play while driving with your children… or just listening for yourself and getting into the nostalgia of it.

This entry was posted in Audio Books, Books, Children's, Dr Seuss, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

