Category Archives: Uncategorized

An Audio-Book Review: Yo Ho Ho and a Half-Pound of Yams!

The Bounty: The True Story of the Mutiny on the Bounty By Caroline Alexander Published by Penguin Audio Read by Michael York   The Book: Not sure why I picked up this book. I did read the classic Nordhoff and … Continue reading

Posted in Audio Books, Books, HIstory, Nonfiction, Reviews, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

An Audio-Book Review: I Should Have Taken that Left Turn at Albuquerque

The Long Cosmos By Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter Published by Harper Audio Read by Michael Fenton Stevens   The Book: At last, the conclusion of “The Long Earth” series. Way back, at the start of the series, there was … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Audio Books, Books, Science Fiction, SF, Terry Pratchett, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

An Audio-Book Review: SF Meets Pulp Fiction

The Ambulance Made Two Trips By Murray Leinster Published by Librivox.org Read by Phil Chenovert   The Story: In some ways, this is a typical early 1960’s science fiction story, but Murray Leinster gives it a spin that makes it … Continue reading

Posted in Audio Books, Books, Reviews, Science Fiction, SF, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

An Audio-Book Review: Back to Landover

The Black Unicorn By Terry Brooks Published by Brilliance Audio Read by Dick Hill   The Book: This is the second book in Brooks’ Magic Kingdom of Landover series. Ben Holiday has been in Landover for over a year now … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Audio Books, Books, Fantasy, Terry Brooks, Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

An Audio-Book Review: Into the Soul-Sucking Darkness of Space!

Across the Sea of Suns By Gregory Benford Published by The Library of Congress- National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped Read by Gary Tipton   The Book: I really wanted to like this story, but I suppose … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Audio Books, Books, Science Fiction, SF, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

An Audio-Book Review: Memoire of a Grouchy Old Man

Belgarath the Sorcerer By David and Leigh Eddings Published by Recorded Books for the Blind Read by Roy Avers   The Book: Fans of David Eddings’ Belgariad and Malloreon series will, no doubt love this additional look at the characters … Continue reading

Posted in Adventure, Audio Books, Books, David Eddings, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

An Audio-Book Review: Hobbits are Out of Stock, But We Do Have Petty Dwarves!

The Children of Hurin By J.R.R. Tolkien (Edited by Christopher Tolkien) Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Read by Christopher Lee   The Book: I bought the American First Edition of The Silmarillion the day it was released. I was not … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment